My views on mainstream music

So I started my musical journey in the usual way. My mom was a dirty hippie and my dad a good ole boy. So naturally I grew up on Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix and Lynyrd Skynyrd. My mom was in love with Madonna and my dad had a sweet spot for pop country like George Strait and Shania Twain.

I started listening to N’Sync which dates the shit out of me. I had a friend of mine that was a huge fan of Britney Spears and was of course gay at the age of 13. I met a guy in middle school that opened my eyes to KoRn and I was lost. I fell into the dark hole of metal and hentai. I loved Jonathan Davis and incessantly listened to Follow the Leader.

Fast forward to college. I had a boyfriend who was hardcore into Mudvayne and Slipknot. I was a fully entrenched goth at this point. I was just a little metal-head in a stream of what was fast becoming a popular genre of music. I guess that’s the weird thing about my taste in music. It’s always been wide and varied.

I like anything that sounds good and I’ve always really enjoyed finding new bands on youtube. I fell in love with Bring me the Horizon and Falling in Reverse.

They say that you cherish the music that brings you the best memories. Well I don’t cherish the music I listened to in school as much as I cherish the music I see live. I saw KoRn live in college and fell in love with them all over again. I just love the way live music sounds, even semi shitty bands so much better when they are on stage.

Anyway, that’s my view on mainstream music. I don’t really have a unique story in this regard but I would like to think that music has shaped my life.

Leave a Reply

